Scholarships for First-Year Students

At Valley City State University, we offer the top scholarship program among all public universities in North Dakota.

No deadline or application; just apply for admission!

(Note that online students do NOT qualify for these scholarships.)

Scholarships are based on students cumulative high school GPA and ACT or SAT scores.

President's Scholarship
$4,000 per year for 4 years ($16,000)

Leadership Scholarship
$3,500 per year for 4 years ($14,000)

Clock Tower Award
$3,000 per year for 2 years ($6,000)

Footbridge Award
$1,500 for first year only ($1,500)

Scholarships for Transfer Students

Scholarship criteria for transfer students is based on your cumulative grade point average (GPA) from all institutions attended.

Innovator Award
$2,500 for your first year ($2,500)
Minimum 3.5 GPA

Difference Maker Award
$1,500 for your first year ($1,500)
Minimum 3.0 GPA

*Students who do not qualify for ND, MN, MSEP, or WUE tuition rates are considered non-resident students and do not qualify for scholarships listed above.
Please review our Tuition and Fees information to learn more information.
Non-resident/international students may qualify for a STARS waiver, see below.

STARS Waiver

$1,000 per year for 5 years ($5,000)
Applies to students paying Non-Resident and International tuition

  • First Year students must have a 3.25 GPA or a minimum 23 ACT/1130 SAT score
  • Transfer Students must have a 3.25 GPA or higher

Office Information

Director
Charlene Stenson
c.stenson@vcsu.edu
701-845-7105

Admission Counselor
Bridget Blunck
bridget.blunck@vcsu.edu
701-845-7112

Admission Counselor
Erin Heide
erin.heide@vcsu.edu
701-845-7113

Admission Counselor
Oscar Suniga
oscar.suniga@vcsu.edu
701-845-7115

Admission Specialist
Jacob Frey
jacob.a.frey@vcsu.edu
701-845-7101
Office Location
McFarland 218

Office Hours
Academic Year
7:45 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday-Friday
Summer
7:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m., Monday-Friday

Email
enrollment.services@vcsu.edu

Phone
800-532-8641, ext. 7101
701-845-7101

Mailing Address
Enrollment Services
Valley City State University
101 College Street SW
Valley City, ND 58072