Mar 18th, 2014 @ 3:38 pm | Author: Greg Vanney
Valley City State University will host a regional Science Olympiad for teams of high school and junior high students on campus Thursday, March 27.

Nineteen high school teams and 16 junior high teams—comprising 350 to 400 students—will compete at VCSU.

VCSU students, science and music faculty members, and more than 20 Science Olympiad coaches will run the various events on topics including anatomy and physiology, astronomy, geologic mapping, rocks and minerals, robots, water quality, musical sounds, circuits, chemistry and genetics, among others.

Most events will be held in the newly renovated and expanded Rhoades Science Center, with additional competition taking place in Foss Music Hall, Graichen Gym and the Valley City Recreation Center. An end-of-day awards ceremony will be held in Osmon Fieldhouse.

According to Teather Sundstrom, VCSU assistant professor of chemistry and regional Science Olympiad coordinator, the Valley City event is one of five regional competitions throughout the state. Winning teams from each of the regionals will advance to the state competition to be held April 26 at North Dakota State University.

Teams participating in the Valley City Regional Science Olympiad and their coaches are listed below.

Division B (6th–9th grades)
• Ben Franklin Middle School* (Linda Coons), Fargo
• Central Cass Public School* (Marlen Haugen), Casselton
• Edgeley Public School (Jon Schiele)
• Hope-Page* (Jeffrey Hovde), Hope
• Jamestown Middle School* (Mary Lenhart)
• Kulm (Derrick Bopp)
• Northern Cass (Louise Tegtmeier), Hunter
• Valley City (Joelle Manlove)
• Maple Valley (Shirley Anderson), Tower City
• Litchville-Marion High School (Maurice Dullea), Marion
• Red River Valley Home Schoolers (Carla Gellerman)
• Medina Public School (Joyce Spitzer)

Division C (7th–12th grades)
• Central Cass Public School* (Marlen Haugen), Casselton
• Davies High School* (David Schultz), Fargo
• Edgeley Public School (Jon Schiele)
• Fargo South High School* (Andrea Harmon)
• Gackle-Streeter Public School (Tracy Clapper), Gackle
• Hope-Page High School (Jeffrey Hovde), Hope
• Fargo North High School* (Eric Arness)
• Jamestown High School (Lynn Kosel)
• Kulm High School (Derrick Bopp)
• Northern Cass High School (Louise Tegtmeier), Hunter
• Valley City High School (Joelle Manlove)
• West Fargo High School (Melisa Toepke-Peterson)
• Maple Valley* (Shirley Anderson), Tower City
• Litchville-Marion High School (Maurice Dullea), Marion

*Two teams participating in the division