Nov 20th, 2002 @ 9:02 am | Author: Viking Sports Information
VALLEY CITY, ND -- Valley City State wide receiver Steve Battle has been named the most valuable senior in the DAC-10 athletic conference.

Other honors, announced Wednesday, went to Dickinson State quarterback Nick Walker and Minot State quarterback Kenny Smith as they were named the most valuable football players and Dickinson State coach Hank Biesiot as coach of the year.

Battle earned his third consecutive first team selection along with the most valuable senior honors. The Cocoa, Florida native set 15 school records including 55 career touchdowns, 182 receptions and over 4800 all purpose yards. This is the second year in a row that a Viking was named the most valuable senior as Jeremy Peschel took the honors in 2001.

Also named to the first team for VCSU were center Garritt Irey (Sr. Rugby, ND)who was a three-year starter for the Vikings. Linebacker Josh Komarek (Sr. Seward, AK) earned his second consecutive first team selection while leading the Vikings in tackles. Defensive end Jon Kleinke (Sr. Wadena, MN)was also named to the first team after recording ten sacks and twenty tackles for loss in 2002.

Named to the second team were running back Jimmy Newton (Jr. Fairbanks, AK), tackle Tony Hart (Jr. Baudette, MN), defensive end Frank Sowitch (Sr. Minot, ND) and cornerback David Rowe (Sr. Winnipeg, MB)

Four Vikings also received DAC-10 honorable mention honors. Quarterback Mark Fabian (Jr. Roseau, MN), tackle Andy Hart (Jr. Baudette, MN), saftey Conrad Olsonoski (Sr. Lancaster, MN) and linebacker Drew Thompson (Jr. Williston, ND).

Tri-champions Minot, Dickinson and Mary had seven, six and five first team selections respectively.

The NAIA Playoffs begin this Saturday with Dickinson State hosting Carroll College and Minot traveling to the University of Mary.