Aug 3rd, 2010 @ 8:56 am | Author:
The VCSU Music Hall of Fame Banquet will be held on September 18 at the Valley City Town & Country Club. The event has become a popular means of recognizing outstanding alumni and past faculty. This year two individuals will be honored: Ward Thomas Stine received a B.S. in Music Education from Valley City State University (VCSU) in 1965 and is being honored posthumously. Dr. Loren R. Waa was the band director at VCSU from 1964 to 1970 and will attend the Hall of Fame Banquet. All VCSU alumni and friends of the university are invited to attend this special event to honor these exceptional men. A social hour will begin at 6:00 p.m. with dinner served at 6:30 p.m. The evening will include reminiscences about their days at VCSU as well as the exceptional contributions they have both made to music during their careers.

Ward Thomas (Tom) Stine taught band and choir at Kathryn, ND and Larimore, ND before moving to Modesto, CA in 1969. He taught band and orchestra for Mark Twain Jr. High School, where he was the Music Department Chair, and prepared the music curriculum for band, orchestra, and choir. Ward (Tom) was the originating Chair and Band Director of the Beyer High School Music Department. He collaborated on writing the school hymn and fight song for Beyer High School, both of which are still used today. He also served as the conductor of the summer concert band in the park for Stanislaus County (MoBand). During his career Wade (Tom) conducted hundreds of concerts, including concerts given by the Valley City Community Band. He recorded one album as a member of a rock band in the 60s called the NuBeats. Wade (Tom) served on the Valley City Chamber of Commerce and sang in church choirs, often assisting the directors in their absence. One of his final contributions to VCSU was to agree to serve on the Friends of Music Board to assist the VCSU Department of Music move forward with fundraising and marketing.

Dr. Loren R. Waa has had a long and distinguished academic career. He received his Bachelor of Music degree from Concordia College and went on to receive a Masters in Music Education and a Doctor of Education in Music Education, both from the University of Illinois. He has taught band, chorus, and general music in the public schools, and brass lessons and band at the collegiate level, including at Valley City State University. While at VCSU, Waa was an extremely popular band director whose students still remember him fondly. After leaving VCSU he went on to serve as the Undergraduate Music Education Coordinator at the University of Illinois and, in 1979, he secured the position of Professor of Music and Chair of the Music Education Department at the University of Louisville where he founded and directed the University of Louisville's Kentuckiana Music Institute. He retired from that position in 1999. Although Waa's background is in band, he has held numerous church choir positions and continues to be active in his current church music program. Another distinction held by Waa is the fact that he has served as President of the North Dakota and Kentucky Music Educators Associations. Waa is the recipient of a number of awards including the Albert Austin Harding Award from the University of Illinois, The Kentucky Music Educators Association Twelfth District College/University Teacher of the Year, the Kentucky Music Educators Association State College/University Teacher of the Year, the University of Louisville Award for Administrative Excellence, the Kentucky Music Educators Association Distinguished Service Award, and an appointment as a Kentucky Colonel by the governor of Kentucky.

For Tickets or More Information

Contact Paula Larson in the Music Department office at or 701-845-7272. Tickets for the event are $30 and the Music Department must receive payment no later than September 3, 2010. Tickets may also be purchased online by visiting the VCSU Music Web site and clicking on the "Music Hall of Fame Banquet Registration" link on the left.

Please join the Music Department in honoring these exceptional musicians!