Jun 8th, 2012 @ 11:34 am | Author: Viking Sports Admin
Led by three upperclassman that garnered the highest academic honor for a softball player in the NAIA, the Viking Softball team worked their way to a 3.441 team grade point average in the spring.

Junior Hayley Bevan and Seniors Jane Pettit and Sara Gullickson were named to the 2012 Daktronics-NAIA Scholar Athletes list. In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for the honor.

The Vikings also placed fourteen players on the Dakota Athletic Conference Scholar list. Hayley Bevan, Adrianna Boychuk, Caitlin Giesbrecht, Sara Gullickson, Mackenzie Hamre, Stephanie Lahey, Brittany Lehner, Katie McBride, Emma Nelson, Jane Pettit, Kati Reisenauer, Courtney Shadlock, Jen Shadlock and Shayna Taffinder all made the DAC list by maintaining a 3.25 overall grade point average.

On their way to the team 3.441 GPA, the Vikings had five student athletes named to the University's President's List (4.0); Caitlin Giesbrecht, Mackenzie Hamre, Brittany Lehner, Jane Pettit and Jen Shadlock all pulled down perfect grades in the spring semester.

Making the Dean's List (3.5-3.9) were Hayley Bevan, Adrianna Boychuk and Courtney Shadlock.