Sep 25th, 2012 @ 3:49 pm | Author:
VCSU is pleased to announce the individuals and teams that will be inducted into the Viking Hall of Fame at the Hall of Fame banquet being held Friday, September 28, 2012 at the Student Center Cafeteria (social: 5:00 pm; dinner: 6:00 pm). For tickets or more information, contact Deb Feuerherm at 701-845-7161.

Terry Anderson: A three year letter winner for the Vikings golf team, Terry claimed NDCAC conference titles in 1971 and 1973. He was also First Team All-District and a medalist at the NAIA golf meet in 1971 where he shot a 71. Terry was instrumental in leading the Vikings to three consecutive conference championships.

Trevor Bakalar: Trevor was a 1995 and 1996 football All-American while playing for the Vikings. Trevor also received First Team All-Conference recognition during the 1995 and 1996 seasons. Trevor played a huge role contributing to the success of the 1996 football team that went on to a 9-1 season and a playoff berth. Trevor was also named the NDCAC Player of the Year; he was a 1997 scholar athlete and the 1995 Special Teams Player of the Year.

Mikah Boudreaux: The 1996 Viking football team MVP. He also received First Team All-Conference honors during the 1994, 1995 and 1996 seasons, was a NAIA scholar athlete, and the 1995 Offensive Player of the Year. Mikah was instrumental in leading the 1996 Viking football team to a 9-1 record and a playoff berth.

Sarge Truesdell: Both a very accomplished football player and wrestler. In 1996 and 1997, Sarge was named to the NAIA All-American team in football, and was a First Team All-Conference selection. He was named Defensive Player of the Year and was part of the 1996 playoff team. In wrestling, Sarge was a three time All-American. In 1996, Sarge placed fourth in the nation, and during the 1997 and 1998 seasons, he reached the national finals placing second both seasons. During the 1998 season, Sarge was NDCAC most valuable graduating senior. The 1997 wrestling team placed ninth in the nation.

Kirk Zink: A very accomplished wrestler while competing for the Vikings. During the 1994 season, Zink reached the national finals and placed second. In the 1996 season, Zink placed seventh in the nation and helped the Vikings to an 8-1 dual record. Zink was also a NDCAC Conference Champion. The 1996 team placed ninth in the nation as a team, and Zink placed third that season making him a three time All-American.

The 1971, 1972 and 1973 golf teams: Won three consecutive NDCAC golf titles, with Terry Anderson winning titles in 1971 and 1973. The 1971 team defeated defending champ Minot State by 16 strokes. The 1972 team trailed by three strokes on the first day but came back to win the tournament in great fashion the second day. Joe Vandrovec finished in second place. The 1973 team had three medalists in Terry Anderson, Joe Vandrovec and Jay Melland.

The 1996 football team: Coached by Steve Legrand, finished the season with a 9-1 record. During the season, the team defeated Jamestown College, Dakota State, Dakota Wesleyan, University of Minnesota, Crookston, Mayville State, Dickinson State, South Dakota Tech and Minot State. Seven players received first team All-Conference recognition (Gerald Urlaub, Mikah Boudreaux, Trevor Bakalar, Mark Pippin, Ray Reinhart, Sarge Truesdall and George Perich). The team lost a hard fought playoff game against Northwestern (IA) by a score of 14-7.