Sep 16th, 2013 @ 12:04 pm | Author: Mark Potts, Sports Information Director
Valley City State University will induct three individuals and three teams into the Viking Hall of Fame during Homecoming Weekend.

Brent Lick, Robert Maresh and Terry Corwin are among the 2013 Hall of Fame Inductees, along with the 1958 football team and the 1981 and 1982 baseball teams.

All will be inducted during the VCSU Hall of Fame Banquet on Friday, Oct. 4, at the VCSU Student Center. A meet and greet social will begin at 5 p.m., with the banquet at 6 p.m. Tickets to the banquet can be purchased for $20 by calling the Viking athletic office, 701-845-7160.

2013 Hall of Fame inductees
Brent Lick (1981-85): Brent was a first-team all-conference and all-district baseball selection in 1984, and he played on the 1981 and 1982 baseball conference championship teams. Brent was also a four-year letter winner in basketball and an all-conference selection during the 1984-85 season. Brent was selected as MVP of the basketball team during the 1984-85 season, and the 1980-81, 1981-82, and 1983-84 basketball teams that he played on won conference championships. 

Robert “Bob” Maresh (1968-1973): Robert was a 3-time conference wrestling champion in 1970-71, 1971-72, and 1972-73. During the 1971 season Robert competed at the NAIA National Tournament where he earned runner-up honors and All-American honors. In 1973, the team elected him as their most valuable wrestler. During the last three years that Robert competed for the Vikings, the team compiled a 30-12 team dual record.

Terry A. Corwin (Gymnastics coach, 1975-89): Terry was head coach of the VCSU gymnastics team for the entire duration of the program, starting the team in 1975 and coaching through the 1989 season, after which VCSU dropped gymnastics due to the NAIA dropping the sport. Terry guided the 1984-85 team to its highest finish, placing 10th at the NAIA National Meet in Minot, scoring a team record high 125.35 points. Terry also guided the Vikings to a 10th-place finish at the national meet in the 1985-86 season, and an 11th-place finish at nationals in 1986-87.

1958 football team: The VCSU football team finished as conference champions with a 6-1 record. Jim Bock and Bill Thomas were elected first team all-conference. Named honorable mention all-conference for the Vikings were Jerry Halmrast, Gordon Ringdahl, Al Strand, Delton Hesse and Jack Dwyer. Bill Thomas finished fifth in total rushing in the NAIA. Wins over Jamestown, Wahpeton, Minot, Ellendale, Bismarck and Dickinson helped the Vikings to their title. The Vikings were coached by Vern Gale.

1981 and 1982 baseball teams: The Vikings achieved back-to-back conference championships in 1981 and 1982, coached by Jim Dew. The 1981 team finished 22-10 with an 11-3 conference record while the 1982 team compiled a 20-12 overall record along with a 13-1 conference record. The 1981 team won the NDCAC tourney and lost in the District 12 tournament at Spearfish, S.D. All-conference performers on the 1981 team were Kyle Davison, Mark Smetana, Scott Radloff, Jim Lowe and Darwin Subart. All-district that year for the Vikings were Kyle Davison, Mark Smetana and Scott Radloff. Honorable mention performers were Brent Ham and Doug Black. On the 1982 team all-conference performers were Scott Radloff, Darwin Subart, Bob Fleming and Terry Stargardt. Honorable mention all-conference for the Vikings in 1982 were Mike Even and Doug Black. Scott Radloff earned All-District honors.