Nov 20th, 2013 @ 10:18 am | Author: Mark Potts, Sports Information Director
Eight Valley City State football players were named First Team All Conference on Wednesday as the North Star Athletic Association announced its season awards.

A total of 30 players were selected First Team All Conference by NSAA head coaches. Valley City State running back Derek Elliott was voted Most Valuable Player Offense. Viking linebacker Jake Thurston was named Most Valuable Senior, and VCSU head coach Dennis McCulloch was voted Coach of the Year.

Jamestown's JT Petsch was named Most Valuable Player Defense.

Elliott and Thurston led a total of eight Vikings named First Team All Conference. Offensive linemen George Trujillo and Gustavo Ramirez, tight end Jacob Miller and kicker Thomas Cortez were named to the First Team Offense along with Elliott. Defensive linemen Matt Craft and Dwanye Fearon were voted First Team Defense along with Thurston.

Jamestown (N.D.) tallied seven players on the NSAA Football All-Conference first team, followed by Mayville State (N.D.) with six selections.  Dakota State landed five selections, while Presentation (S.D.) had four selections to the all-conference team.

Valley City State and Jamestown were crowned as North Star co-champions with a 3-1 conference record.  Dakota State and Mayville State were tied for third place in the conference standings with a 2-2 conference record.  Presentation finished fifth in the conference standings.

There are 25 players that are selected to NSAA Football All-Conference Honorable Mention team.

For Valley City State, five players were named All Conference Honorable Mention: linebackers Fontayne Fuga and Austyn Flores, offensive lineman Taylor Carvalho, wide receiver Colby Lum and quarterback Kurtis Walls.

Click here for a complete listing of the North Star All Conference Team.