Top Nav Leftcrn
Top Nav Rightcrn
vcsu
vcsu

Mary Jo McCann

Obituary

Mary Jo McCann
Mary Jo McCann 
Mary Jo McCann, 33, of Fargo passed away on Monday, Aug. 8 at Lisbon Area Health Services after a courageous and inspiring battle with cancer.

Mary Jo was born on Jan. 30, 1978 in Lisbon to John and Carol (Grothe) McCann. She attended school in Lisbon and graduated from high school in 1996. She attended Valley City State University, was a member of the Philomathian Sorority and graduated in 2001 with a Liberal Arts Degree.

Mary Jo was the administrative assistant at the Kohls Department Store in Fargo and was a frequent volunteer at many events with them. She enjoyed camping, NASCAR, and spending time with family and friends. Her bubbling personality, sarcastic humor and ability to make anyone laugh will be missed.

She is survived by her special friend Jeff Walker, Fargo; her parents John and Carol McCann, Lisbon; grandparents Kenneth and Charlene Grothe, Enderlin; sister Megan McCann-Engberg (Byron), Crary; niece and Goddaughter Ainsleigh Marie Engberg, Crary; aunts and uncles Linda Grothe, Lisbon; Serine (John) Calvin-Grothe, Seattle, WA; Dale (Elena) Grothe, Waterbury Center, VT; Francis (Debby) McCann, West Fargo; Renee (Jim) Lasneski, Roswell, GA; Kathy (Jerry) Strahm, Jamestown; Marie (Robert) Ness, Jamestown; Peggy (Clyde) Williamson, Valley City; Jim (Pam) McCann, Aurora, CO, and many, many cousins and friends.

Scholarship

A scholarship has been named in her honor; more information to come.
Donations can be sent to the VCSU Foundation to the Mary Jo McCann Scholarship Fund / 101 College St SW / Valley City, ND 58072
Apply Now Schedule Campus Visit
Offices
President
Wendy Eszlinger
Email: wendy.eszlinger@vcsu.edu
Vice President

Secretary

Treasurer
Kaitlen Uecker
Email: kaitlen.uecker@vcsu.edu

Ashley Bogardus
Email: ashley.m.bogardus@vscu.edu

Brianna Johnson
Email: brianna.l.johnson@vcsu.edu

Natalie Monilaws
Email: natalie.j.monilaws@vcsu.edu

Kecia Ellison
Email: kecia.r.ellison@vcsu.edu

On Campus Advisor
Amber Aberle
Email: amber.r.aberle@vcsu.edu
Off Campus Advisor
Trina Lee
Email: trina_renae@hotmail.com
Feedback