Mar 25th, 2014 @ 8:43 am | Author: Greg Vanney
The Valley City State University Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Delta Lambda, the national honor society for first-year students, honored 34 VCSU freshmen with initiation into the society at a ceremony held Sunday, March 9, in the Skoal Room of the VCSU Student Center.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society for students who have maintained a 3.5 or higher GPA and who rank in the top 20 percent of their class during their first year or term of higher education. The society’s purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students during their first year of study.

Alpha Lambda Delta was founded as an honor society for freshman women in 1924 at the University of Illinois; men were first admitted in 1975. There are more than 260 chapters nationwide.

In addition to the initiation of the new freshman members, chapter officers were also installed at the initiation ceremony, and the senior members of Alpha Lambda Delta who maintained the 3.5 GPA and top 20 percent rank throughout their academic careers at VCSU were recognized with Senior Honor Cords.

Five VCSU students—Jenna Coghlan, Michaela Halvorson, Shelby Hartman, Brianna Johnson and Melissa Kindelspire—received Alpha Lambda Delta scholarships. Kindelspire, a junior from Page, N.D., was one of 35 students nationwide to receive a 2013 Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship, which carries a monetary award; she was selected on the basis of her academic record, application statements, and participation in Alpha Lambda Delta, and campus and community activities.

Coghlan (sophomore, Valley City, N.D.), Halvorson (sophomore, Milnor, N.D.), Hartman (sophomore, Mandan, N.D.) and Johnson (sophomore, Wahpeton, N.D.) received local awards to help cover the costs of textbooks.

Also recognized were VCSU faculty and staff members Vitaliano Figueroa, Nadja Johnson and Linda Whitney, who were named honorary initiates.

Figueroa serves as vice president for student affairs at VCSU; he holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Rhode Island and a doctorate from Argosy University.

Johnson is VCSU’s retention/diversity and inclusion coordinator. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Fisk University, a master’s degree from the University of Central Florida and a doctorate from Florida Atlantic University.

Whitney, professor and chair of the VCSU art department, holds a bachelor’s degree and a master of fine arts degree, both from the University of North Dakota. An accomplished printmaker, her work has been exhibited throughout North America and Europe, and in Australia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Russia and Serbia.

Margaret Dahlberg, VCSU vice president for academic affairs, serves as faculty advisor for Alpha Lambda Delta; Janet Drake, director of of student academic services, serves as administrative advisor.

Alpha Lambda Delta Freshman Initiates (in geographic order)

Hemet — Madison Bagby

Fort Collins — Olivia Damge

Des Moines — Randy Hoang

Brooklyn Park — Logan Olesen

North Dakota
Cayuga — Alex Askerooth
Dahlen — Kaylee Johnson
Ellendale — KaSaundra Peterson
Forman — Jacob Schlecht
Fredonia—Heather Palmer
Jamestown — Samantha Eichele, Ting Ting Lin
Kathryn — Justin Tangen
Lamoure — Megan Good, Kenneth Hodem, Trinity Potts
Larimore — PJ Peterson
Lisbon — Mark Bultema, Matthew Bultema
Milnor — Jacob Johnson
Minot — Alexis Getzlaff
New Rockford — Jacob Lommen
Newburg — Madelyn Zane
Park River — Jordan Midgarden
Tower City — Mariah Smith
Valley City — Jessica Gylden, Ruth Ihry, Breanna Thompson
Wahpeton — Mimi Brown
West Fargo — Alexis Lennon

South Dakota
Rosholt — Adam Krueger


Innisfail — Jaycee George

Oxbow — Ali Scott

Kronshagen—Niklas Ernst

Bosques del Lago — Andrea Chávez Pillado

- - - - - - -

2014–15 ALD Chapter Officers
President: KaSaundra Peterson – freshman, Ellendale, N.D.
Vice President: Trinity Potts – freshman, Lamoure, N.D.
Secretary: Megan Good – freshman, Lamoure, N.D. 

Treasurer: Jaycee George – freshman, Innisfail, Alberta, Canada 

Historian: PJ Peterson – freshman, Larimore, N.D. 

Editor: Logan Olesen – freshman, Brooklyn Park, Minn.
Webmaster: Kenneth Hodem – freshman, Lamoure, N.D.
Senior Advisor: Kaitlyn Heuring – senior, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Junior Advisor: Brianna Johnson – sophomore, Wahpeton, N.D.

- - - - - - -

Senior Honor Cord Recipients
Krista Briss — McHenry, N.D. 

Amy Doll — West Fargo, N.D. 

Wayne Engelhard — Valley City, N.D. 

Anna Fuka — Lidgerwood, N.D. 

Caitlin Giesbrecht — Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada 

Benjamin Haugeberg — Watford City, N.D. 

Brittany Kockelman* — Canby, Minn.
Cassandra Kunze — Dazey, N.D.
Lindsay Lagodinski* — Pelican Rapids, Minn.
Brittany Lehner — Watertown, S.D. 

Anna Neufeld — Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada 

Kirci Phillips-Wagner* — Adrian, N.D.
Philip Reuer — Kintyre, N.D.
Jacob Schauer — Williston, N.D.
Jordan Undem — Rogers, N.D. 

Emily Waswick — Gwinner, N.D.
Harrison Weber — Casselton, N.D.
Jenna Wright — Leonard, N.D. 

Richard Wright — Starkweather, N.D.

*Completed graduation requirement in Fall 2013