Apr 20th, 2015 @ 2:37 pm | Author: Greg Vanney
The Valley City State University Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Delta Lambda, the national honor society for first-year students, honored 26 VCSU freshmen with initiation into the society at a ceremony held Sunday, March 8, in the Skoal Room of the VCSU Student Center.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society for students who have maintained a 3.5 or higher GPA and who rank in the top 20 percent of their class during their first year or term of higher education. The society’s purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students during their first year of study.

Founded as an honor society for freshman women in 1924 at the University of Illinois, Alpha Lambda Delta first admitted men to the society in 1975. There are more than 260 chapters nationwide.

In addition to the initiation of the new freshman members, chapter officers were also installed at the initiation ceremony, and the senior members of Alpha Lambda Delta who maintained the 3.5 GPA and top 20 percent rank throughout their academic careers at VCSU were recognized with Senior Honor Cords.

Three VCSU students—Brianna Johnson, Alexis Getzlaff and KaSaundra Peterson—received Alpha Lambda Delta scholarships. Johnson, a VCSU senior from Wahpeton, N.D., was one of 36 students nationwide to receive a 2014 Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship, which carries a monetary award; she was selected on the basis of her academic record, application statements, and participation in Alpha Lambda Delta and campus/community activities. Getzlaff (junior, Minot, N.D.) and Peterson (junior, Ellendale, N.D.) each received local awards to help cover the costs of textbooks.

Named honorary initiates were four VCSU faculty and staff members: David Bass, assistant professor of education; Casey Williams, assistant professor of science; Kathryn Woehl, assistant professor of social science, and President Tisa Mason. Bass holds a bachelor’s degree from Valley City State and a master’s degree from the University of North Dakota. Williams holds a bachelor’s degree from Northwestern State University and master’s and doctoral degrees from Texas State University. Woehl holds a bachelor’s degree from North Dakota State University, a master’s degree from St. Cloud State University, and master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of North Dakota. Mason holds a bachelor’s degree from Transylvania University, a master’s degree from Eastern Illinois University and a doctorate from the College of William and Mary.

Margaret Dahlberg, VCSU vice president for academic affairs, serves as faculty advisor for Alpha Lambda Delta; Janet Drake, director of of student academic services, serves as administrative advisor. Drake, who is retiring at the end of the academic year, was recognized for her year of service to the honor society.

Alpha Lambda Delta Freshman Initiates (in geographic order)

Baldwin Park—Daniel Machado

Staples—Samantha Gavin

North Dakota
Amenia—Mikayla Cramer
Belcourt—Devin Poitra
Bismarck—Paige Fettig, Benjamin Holen, Alex Quist
Casselton—Adam Anderson
Davenport—Deborah Haley
Fairmount—Paige Meyer
Fargo—Dani Davis, Hannah Gress
Forman—Hannah Colemer
Galesburg—Shelby Johnson
Hankinson—Gage Metzen
Horace—Sawyer Uetz
Jamestown—Cassandra Reidburn
Milnor—Briton Bussman
Rolette—Rae Ann Beaver
Rolla—Grayson Marty
Verona—Stephanie McCann
Watford City—Morgan Berquist
West Fargo—Krystal Holmes, Alyssa Livermont

South Dakota
Goodwin—Mikaela Fischer
Onida—Nicole Mosiman

2014–15 Alpha Lambda Delta Chapter Officers
President—Paige Fettig (Bismarck, N.D.)
Vice President—Rae Ann Beaver (Rolette, N.D.)
Secretary—Stephanie McCann (Verona, N.D.)
Editor—Michaela Fischer (Goodwin, S.D.)
Senior Advisor—Brianna Johnson (Wahpeton, N.D.)

Scholarship Recipients
Alexis Getzlaff (Minot, N.D.)
Brianna Johnson (Wahpeton, N.D.)
Kasaundra Peterson (Ellendale, N.D.)

Senior Honor Cord Recipients (in geographic order)
North Dakota
Casselton—Lyndsey Swanson*
Ellendale—Kyle Ketterling*
Harvey—Christopher Kennedy
Jamestown—Thomas Dodson
Minot—Summer Romine*
Rolette—Marcie Armstrong*
Sheyenne—Scott Westby
Valley City—Garret Hecker, Andrew Reierson
Wyndmere—Nicole Mauch

*Completed graduation requirements in Fall 2014