Jun 10th, 2010 @ 11:49 am | Author: Viking Sports Admin
2009-10 All Sports Social Award Winners

The VCSU Student Athletes, Coaches and Booster Members came together for an evening of ice cream, awards and fellowship when they met in the Student Center Cafeteria on May 5 for the Athletic Department Awards Night and Ice Cream Social.

Two seniors garnered top honors on the night. Volleyball and Women's Basketball athlete Heidi Larson (Grand Rapids, MN) won both the 2009-10 Female Athlete of the Year and the 2009-10 Female Senior Athlete Award, while Men's Basketball's Orlando Anderson (Green Bay, WI) won the 2009-10 Male Athlete of the Year and 2009-10 Male Senior Athlete Award.

Larson's 2009 Volleyball season was highlighted by her being named VCSU's first ever female First Team All-American (Tachikara-NAIA All American Volleyball Team). She was also Northwest Regional Volleyball Player of the Year and Dakota Athletic Conference Volleyball Player of the Year.

Larson's career achievement put her in line for the Senior Award which takes into account athletic achievements over a career. Including her stellar volleyball senior year, Larson was a 3-time First Team All Dakota Athletic Conference Performer and was Freshman of the Year back in 2006. She leaves VCSU as the record holder in most offensive categories. She also was a member of the women's basketball team and in her final three years as a player the team finished in the top half of the DAC and hosted a playoff game. Off the court Larson was heavily involved in campus activities and was a 9 –time DAC Scholar Athlete Award Winner.

Anderson's 2009-10 was capped off by leading the Men's Basketball team to its first ever Dakota Athletic Conference Championship and first conference championship since 1990-91. He was a First Team All Dakota Athletic Conference Selection and was named DAC Most Valuable Senior. He also earned Honorable Mention All American honors from the NAIA.

For his career Anderson scored over 1000 points placing him in the top 10 all time at VCSU and as a sophomore led the team to a 22-8 record, the most team wins since 1986-87 and the highest ever NAIA top 25 poll ranking at 14th back in 2008.

Other awards on the evening were bestowed to Senior Women's Basketball player Andrea Hummel (West Fargo, ND) and Sophomore Baseball player Josh Evans (Hayfield, MN) as the Female and Male NAIA Champions of Character Award Winners for their commitments to the five core values of the Champions of Character. The Volleyball team earned the NAIA Champions of Character team award for their assistance throughout the campus and the community as well as academic successes.

Jason Hollett, senior from North Pole, Alaska earned the Viking Award for his leadership and campus involvement.

The VCSU Coach of the Year, as voted upon by his peers was Jeff Kaminsky, Head Men's Basketball Coach. Coach Kaminsky lead his team to their first ever DAC Championship and first conference Championship since 19900-91.