Dec 17th, 2010 @ 3:37 pm | Author: viking sports admin
Five VCSU Football players were named to the 2010 NAIA Scholar-Athlete Team today. Trent Kosel was named to the team for the third straight year. Jordan Backstrom and Ronald Buck are two time honorees.

Head Coach Dennis McCulloch commented, 'Our staff is extremely proud of these young men and their accomplishments. They are deserving representatives of our team. They are leaders on the field, the classroom and our community.'

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status to qualify for this honor. The entire list of may be seen at

Trent Kosel ... SR ... QB ... Edgeley, ND
Jordan Backstrom ...SR ... RB ... Maddock, ND
Ronald Buck ... SR ... DL ... Minneapolis, MN
Dillan Ostrom ... JR ... WR ... Finley, ND
Tyler Kosel ... JR ... DB ... Edgeley, ND