May 2nd, 2013 @ 2:11 pm | Author:
The Valley City State University Sigma Lambda chapter of Alpha Delta Lambda, the national honor society for first-year students, honored 33 VCSU freshmen with initiation into the society at a ceremony held Sunday, March 24, in the VCSU Student Center.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society for students who have maintained a 3.5 or higher GPA and who rank in the top 20 percent of their class during their first year or term of higher education. The society’s purpose is to encourage superior academic achievement among students during their first year of study.

Alpha Lambda Delta was founded as an honor society for freshman women in 1924 at the University of Illinois; men were first admitted in 1975. There are more than 260 chapters nationwide.

In addition to the initiation of the new freshman members, Hilde van Gijssel, VCSU associate professor of biology, was named an honorary initiate in recognition of her 2012 VCSU Teacher of the Year award. Van Gijssel holds the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Leiden University in the Netherlands.

Chapter officers were also installed at the initiation ceremony, and the senior members of Alpha Lambda Delta who maintained the 3.5 GPA and top 20 percent rank throughout their academic careers at VCSU were recognized with Senior Honor Cords.

Caitlin Geisbrecht—a VCSU junior from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, and an Alpha Lambda Delta member—was recognized as the recipient of an Alpha Lambda Delta Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship for the 2012–13 academic year. Geisbrecht was one of 35 students across the nation to receive the Trow Scholarship; she was selected on the basis of her academic record, application statements, and participation in Alpha Lambda Delta, campus and community activities.

Margaret Dahlberg, VCSU vice president for academic affairs, serves as faculty advisor; Janet Drake, VCSU director of of student academic services, serves as administrative advisor.

Alpha Lambda Delta Initiates (in geographic order)

Phoenix – Vincent Marin
Surprise – Jawuan Pugh

Esko – Stephanie Miller
Hamburg – Alyssa Swanson

Las Vegas – Malik Jackson

North Dakota
Amidon – Maren Stegner
Ashley – Wendy Eszlinger
Bismarck – Taylor Crosby
Cando – Michelle Holien
Cooperstown – Jennifer Croy
Edinburg – Andrew Evenson
Fingal – Jessica Puhr
Harvey – Jessica Meland
Kindred – James Dougherty, Zachary Nelson
Larimore – Jessica Georgeson
Lisbon – Haley Christofferson, Alexandra Kielb
Mandan – Alex Conlon, Shelby Hartman
Marion – Christopher Clyde
Milnor – Michaela Halvorson
New Rockford – Caitlyn Broden
Sanborn – Ashley Limesand
Tappen – Natasha Hintz
Valley City – Jessica Carlblom, Jenna Coghlan
Wahpeton – Brianna Johnson
West Fargo – Tarra Miller, Holli Schmitz

Alberta, Canada
Calgary – Kelsey Labodi

Saskatchewan, Canada
Elbow – Dylan Boyle, Barbara Ector

2013–14 ALD Chapter Officers
President: Brianna Johnson – freshman, Wahpeton, N.D.
Vice President: Michaela Halvorson – freshman, Milnor, N.D.
Secretary: Jessica Meland – freshman, Harvey, N.D.
Treasurer: Alex Conlon – freshman, Mandan, N.D.
Historian: Zach Nelson – freshman, Walcott, N.D.
Senior Advisor: Lindsay Lagodinski – senior, Ellendale, N.D.
Senior Advisor: Anthony Trautman – junior, Audubon, Minn.
Junior Advisor: Kaitlyn Heuring – junior, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Senior Honor Cord Recipients
Amanda Aune* – Gary, Minn.
Adriana Dalman* – Portland, N.D.
Amy Field – Pelican Rapids, Minn.
Kyle Hess* – Wisconsin Rapids, Wis.
Preston Jensen – Valley City, N.D.
Alyssa Johnson – Watford City, N.D.
Angie Johnson – Roseglen, N.D.
John Joki – Zim, Minn.

Cy Kirsch* – New Leipzig, N.D.

Ryan LeNoue – Barnesville, Minn.
Caitlin Miller* – Venturia, N.D.
Dillan Ostrom – Finley, N.D.
Eric Parkman – Hope, N.D.
Katie Paulson – Valley City, N.D.
Steven Petherbridge – West Fargo, N.D.
Sarah Rhyan – Oakes, N.D.
Patrick Rogers – Eagan, Minn.
Amber Vanbruggen – Valley City, N.D.

*completed graduation requirements in fall 2012