PDF Reader Required

Executive Officers

Student Senate is led by six executive officers who make everything possible: President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, NDSA Delegate, and Public Relations.  The executive officers below are for the 2017-2018 year.

Niklas Ernst, President

Major: Social Science/Political Science
Hometown: Kronshagen, Germany
Campus Involvement: Track & Field, Resident Assistant in Kolstoe Hall, Parking Manager/Office Assistant
Committee Assignments: Shared Governance Leadership Team, Strategic Planning Committee, Finance Commission, Wellness Center Advisory Committee
“I am on Student Senate because students deserve a strong voice in all decision-making processes at VCSU. Thus, it is my privilege to advocate relentlessly on our student body’s behalf.”

Oscar Suniga, Vice President

 5th year Senior
Major: Business Administration with a minor in marketing
Hometown: Hemet, CA
Campus Involvement: Viking Ambassador, Campus job in President’s Office in Student Center and with Athletics, Resident Assistant, Retired Track Sprinter.
Committee Assignments: Viking Pride, Faculty Senate, Strategic plan Implementation.
"I’m just here so I don’t get fined."

Autumn Johnson, Secretary

Major: History Education
Hometown: Hazen, ND
Campus Involvement: VCSU volleyball, Viking Ambassadors, Resident Assistant-Snoeyenbos hall, Secretary of History Club, Alpha Lambda Delta
Committee Assignments: Finance Commission, Election and Polls, Election Hearing Board
"Senate has allowed me to get involved on campus, use my voice to stand up for other students, and expand my leadership abilities."

Brittany Roney, Treasurer

Major: Business Administration with concentrations in Managerial Accounting and Finance, Human Resources and Management, and Agribusiness.
Campus Involvement: Viking Campus Activities Board Secretary, Viking Ambassador, Alpha Lambda Delta Junior Representative, Ag Club President, Campus Employment in the Business Office
Committee Assignments: Finance Commission,  Institutional Effectiveness Committee, Judicial Council, Election Hearing Board
“I wanted to join Student Senate to become more involved as an incoming freshman, and my involvement in senate and other organizations on campus just expanded from that point on.”

Jarin Blumhagen, Public Relations

Jarin Blumhagen, PR
Jarin Blumhagen, PR 

Major: Computer Information Systems
Hometown: Lincoln, ND
Campus Involvement: Student Senate
Committee Assignments: Viking Pride, Marketing Committee 
"I joined Student Senate because I wanted to get involved on campus and make a difference to other/prospective students."

Akexis Kohler, NDSA Representative

Major: Elementary Education
Hometown: Bismarck, North Dakota
Campus Involvement: Viking Ambassadors, Math tutor, orientation crew, Kappa Delta Pi, SNDU (Student North Dakota United), L2L mentor
Committee Assignments: CIFF (Campus Inter-Functional Forum)
 "I joined student senate after being encouraged by some family members and friends to join. I love student senate because I get to help be the voice for the students. It is also a great way to get involved and meet different people on campus."

General Information

President: Niklas Ernst
Vice President: Oscar Suniga
Secretary: Autumn Johnson
Treasurer: Brittany Roney
NDSA Head Delegate: Alexis Kohler
Public Relations: Jarin Blumhagen

Office Location: Student Senate Office, Student Center

Weekly Meeting: Monday at 6:30pm in the Lower Level Conference Room, VCSU Student Center

Office Hours: Available by appointment.

VCSU Student Senate
230 Viking Dr SW
Valley City, ND 58072