PDF Reader Required

About Student Senate

Representing... YOU!!

Click to zoom

The Student Senate is the governing body for the Student Association and includes all Valley City State University students. The Student Senate is duly and freely elected by the Student Association and is recognized and given authority by the University within the rules established by the Constitution of the Student Association and a collection of By-Laws. The Student Senate acts as liaison with the faculty and administration and is the official voice of the students in university affairs. All Valley City State University students become members of the Student Association upon payment of the university fee.

Every organization, no matter the division or department, is under Student Senate; for this reason, representatives are invited from several organizations to voice their concerns and needs. Student Senate acts as the final voice when a new club is attempting to form.

Student Senate is overseen by the Vice President of Student Affairs.

Senate Consists of the Following:

1. President
2. Vice-President
3. Secretary
4. Treasurer
5. NDSA Head Delegate
6. Public Relations Manager
7. Art Representative
8. Business Representative
9. Communication Arts Representative
10. Computer Systems and Software Engineering Representative
11. Health and Physical Education Representative
12. Language and Literature Representative
13. Math Representative
14. Music Representative
15. Science Representative
16. Social Science Representative
17. Technology Education Representative
18. Elementary Education Representative
19. Graduate/Teacher Education Representative
20. Viking Campus Activities Board (VCAB) Representative
21. Viking Ambassador Representative
22. Athletics Representative
23. Inter-Residence Hall Council (IRHC) Representative

What We Do!

Click to zoom

Student Senate is involved in the following activities each year:
*Faculty/Staff Appreciation Breakfast
*Campus Safety Walk
*Fall & Spring Community Service
*Valley City Easter Egg Hunt
*VCSU Campus Easter Egg Hunt
*North Dakota Student Association (NDSA)
*Teacher of the Year Award
*Viking Pilot Award
*Student Advocate Award

Senate members also sit on the following VCSU committees:
*Finance Committee
*Student Grievance Committee
*Staff Senate
*Faculty Senate
*CIFT (Campus Interfunctionary Team)
*Financial Aid Committee
*TAC (Technology Advisory Committee)
*Curriculum Committee

Important Senate Documents

Senate is under the jurisdiction of a Constitution and collection of By-Laws. Both documents are open to the public for viewing and questioning. A separate entity of Student Senate--the Constitution Committee--meets to update the Constitution/By-Laws to keep them relevant.

General Information

President: Angeline Gannon
Vice President: Megan Billadeau
Secretary: Emily Smith
Treasurer: Taylene Mediola
NDSA Head Delegate:Abby Bladow
Public Relations: Garret Fettig

Office Location: Student Senate Office, Student Center

Weekly Meeting: Monday at 6:30 p.m. in the Student Senate Room, VCSU Student Center

Office Hours: Available by appointment.

VCSU Student Senate
230 Viking Dr SW
Valley City, ND 58072