Top Nav Leftcrn
Top Nav Rightcrn

About VCSU

VCSU USNews Logo
VCSU USNews Logo 
Recognized as either the #1 or #2 public regional college in the Midwest by U.S. News in each of the last five years, VCSU offers over 80 undergraduate programs in Business, Information Technology, Communication Arts, Social Science, Education, Psychology, Fine Arts, Health, Physical Education, Math, and Science. An online Master of Education degree program is also available.

Founded in 1890 as a "normal school" (or teacher's college), VCSU remains true to its heritage and has an outstanding reputation for producing some of the finest K-12 educators in the region. In 2005, VCSU extended its role in this area by gaining approval to offer a new online Master of Education degree program.

Over the years, VCSU has steadily added to its degree program offerings in several other areas including Information Technology and a new Health Science degree (designed for students planning continued studies in Health Science graduate and professional schools). An excellent Division of Fine Arts provides creative opportunities for our students and cultural assets for the community.

VCSU enhances the learning experience by providing students with access to their own laptop, advanced multimedia technology, high-speed wireless networking, and classrooms equipped with the latest educational technology. A student-faculty ratio of about 12:1 gives students one-to-one access to faculty in ways that are impossible at other universities.

The 55 acre campus, one of the most attractive in North Dakota, is bordered on the south by a forested hillside and on the north by the Sheyenne River. Campus architecture features a graceful blend of historic and modern buildings. The entire campus is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as a Historic District.

The university is located in the southeastern part of the state in the city from which the institution takes its name. Valley City has a population of approximately 8,000 and is located 58 miles west of Fargo on Interstate 94, making the campus easily accessible both from the east and west.

VCSU is one of 11 institutions in the North Dakota University System (NDUS).

NDUS comprises four regional universities (Dickinson State University, Mayville State University, Minot State University and VCSU), two research universities (North Dakota State University and the University of North Dakota), and five community colleges (Bismarck State College, Dakota College at Bottineau, Lake Region State College, North Dakota State College of Science and Williston State College).

The NDUS schools work cooperatively to provide students access to excellence and innovation in education.
North Dakota University System logo
Apply Now Schedule Campus Visit
Location: Valley City, N.D.

Founded: 1890

Enrollment: 1,366

President: Dr. Steven Shirley

Team Nickname: Vikings

School Colors: Cardinal & Blue

Radio: KOVC-AM 1490

Newspaper: Valley City Times-Record