Skip to main content

2023-2024 Academic Awards

Apr 22, 2024

In recognition of excellence in the classroom and beyond, Valley City State University awards faculty and staff with academic awards each spring.


Recipients of the Faculty Excellence Awards are selected  by faculty members, and given to faculty that show “exceptional dedication and commitment to students and the University by outstanding teaching, scholarly activities or university service.”

  • Faculty Excellence Award winners are
    • Senior faculty award – Heather Kvilvang, Ph.D., School of Education
    • Junior faculty award – Travis Knapp, Ph.D., English Department
    • Special appointment faculty award – Heather Peschel, M.Ed., School of Education

Senior Faculty of the Year winner Heather Kvilvang, center.

Junior faculty of the year Travis Knapp, center, with Lee Kruger, left, Larry Brooks, second from left, and President Alan LaFave, right.

Special appointment faculty award winner Heather Peschel, center, with President Alan LaFave, left, and Vice President for Academic Affairs Larry Brooks, right.


The Teacher of the Year and Student Advocate of the year are chosen based on submissions and votes by students.

  • Student Advocate of the Year – Erin Klingenberg, Ph.D.
  • Teacher of the Year – Travis Knapp, Ph.D.

Teacher of the year Travis Knapp with students.

Student advocate of the year Erin Klingenberg with students.