Skip to main content

2022-2023 Fine Arts Calendar

Students performing at one of VCSU's many recitals
Experience the Arts at Valley City State University

There are multiple events throughout the year that highlight the work of students, faculty, and visiting artists. See a complete list of art and music events for the 2022-2023 school year below.

Download a printable PDF schedule

2022-2023 Fine Arts Calendar

FALL 2022

Oct. 11 – Nov. 4 – “Kiowa Six Art Prints” 

Nov 7 – Nov. 18 – Senior Art Show, Hannah Aberle, “Let There Be Light”

Thursday, Nov. 17 – Senior Hannah Aberle, Artist Talk – 3 p.m., Reception 4 p.m.

Nov 21 – Dec. 2 – Senior Art Show, Laken Chase, “One Step Closer”

Wednesday, Nov. 30 – Senior Laken Chase, Artist Talk – 2 p.m., Reception 3 p.m.

Dec. 5 to Dec. 16 – Senior Art Show, Nicole Hurt, “Hidden Underneath”

Friday, Dec. 9 – Senior Nicole HurtArtist Talk – 2 p.m., Reception 3 p.m.

SPRING 2023

Jan. 17 – March 3 – Visiting Artist Show, Quiwen Li, colorgraphy

Thursday, Feb. 9 – Visiting Artist Show, Quiwen LiArtist Talk – 2 p.m.

March 13 – March 31 – High School Exhibition

April 3 – April 14 – Senior Art Show. Bailey Nelson

April 17 – April 28 – Senior Art Show, Jared Grommesh

May 1 – May 10 – Annual Juried Art Exhibition

May 12 to June 20 – NDUS Traveling Art Exhibition

OCTOBER 2022

Friday, Oct. 28 – Ployhar Honor Band Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

NOVEMBER 2022

Tuesday, Nov 1 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Sunday, Nov. 13 – Youth Symphony Performance, Center for the Arts – 3 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 15 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Friday, Nov. 18 – Instrumental Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

DECEMBER 2022

Friday, Dec. 2 – Christmas at St. Catherine’s, St. Catherine’s Church

Tuesday, Dec. 6 – Non-Major Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

FEBRUARY 2023

Tuesday, Feb. 7 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Thursday, Feb. 9 – Visiting Artist Quiwen Li, Artist Talk – TBA, Reception 3 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 17 – Instrumental Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 21 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Friday, Feb. 24 – Intercollegiate Band, Center for the Arts – Noon

Saturday, Feb. 25 – Intercollegiate Band Concert, Center for the Arts – 3 p.m.

MARCH 2023

Friday, March 3 – Choral Showcase Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 7 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Friday, March 10 – Lydia Watkins, piano Sr. Recital, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, March 21 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

APRIL 2023

Tuesday, April 4 – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Thursday, April 6 – Percussion Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

Friday, April 14 – Cassie Boelke & Abby Marfell, Sr. Recital, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 18  – General Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Tuesday, April 25 – Faculty Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m. 

Friday, April 28 – Instrumental Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.

MAY 2023

Tuesday, May 2 – Non-Major Student Recital, Center for the Arts – 11 a.m.

Friday, May 5 – Spring Choral Concert, Center for the Arts – 7:30 p.m.