This week's Hotline includes the following articles:

• VCSU Ag Bowl to be held Aug. 29
• Russi works TEDxFargo
• Becker performs at ClarinetFest 2019
• What’s happening at VCSU and around Valley City…

The VCSU Hotline! online newsletter is published every other week during the summer. Deadline to submit articles (photos encouraged) is 3 p.m. the Friday before publication.

VCSU Ag Bowl to be held Aug. 29

VCSU Ag Bowl to be held Aug. 29
The VCSU Athletic Department, in partnership with First Community Credit Union, is hosting the second annual VCSU Ag Bowl on Thursday, Aug. 29.

This year’s Ag Bowl is also the VCSU football season opener as the Vikings host rival University of Jamestown for a 7 p.m. game. The night’s events start at 5 p.m. with food, games and tailgating. Kickoff for the game is at 7 p.m., and the night concludes with a postgame fireworks show at approximately 9:30 p.m.

Free tickets to the VCSU Ag Bowl are available at local sponsors. Please join us as we recognize and honor our agriculture producers and all those who work in or alongside the agriculture industry!

VCSU Ag Bowl Sponsors
  • First Community Credit Union
  • Ag Country Farm Credit Services
  • Puklich Chevrolet
  • Stoudt-Ross Ford
  • ADM
  • FEI
  • Bank Forward
  • Legend Seeds
  • Central Plains Ag Services
  • Dacotah Bank

Russi works TEDxFargo

Russi works TEDxFargo
Jenni Lou Russi, VCSU associate professor of communication arts, worked as a volunteer for site preparation and registration at TEDxFargo, held July 26 at the Fargo Civic Center.

Becker performs at ClarinetFest 2019

Becker performs at ClarinetFest 2019
Daniel Becker, D.M.A., VCSU assistant professor of music, gave a solo performance at ClarinetFest 2019 on July 28 at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, Tenn. Becker showcased his interest in music of women composers by performing “Fantaisie” by French composer Augusta Holmes.

ClarinetFest 2019, the International Clarinet Association's annual conference, featured performances, master classes, lectures and presentations by performers and instructors from around the world July 24-28.

Accompanist for Becker was Esther Park, assistant professor of music at East Tennessee State University.

What's happening at VCSU and around Valley City ...

Monday, August 12

Tuesday, August 13
12:05 p.m. Rotary, Student Center
5:30 p.m. Sheyenne Valley Friends of Animals, Our Saviors Lutheran Church

Wednesday, August 14
noon Kiwanis, Valley City Town & Country Club
6 p.m. Barnes County Wildlife Federation, Valley City Eagles
7:15 p.m. Music at the Park presents Demasi Brothers, City Park

Thursday, August 15
Payday
7 a.m. Optimists, Vicky’s Viking Room

Friday, August 16

Saturday, August 17

Sunday, August 18

Monday, August 19
Faculty Contracts Begin
4 p.m. VCSU Golf Outing (contact heather.anderson2@vcsu.edu for more information)

Tuesday, August 20
8 a.m. to noon Continental Breakfast and Welcome Back with guest speaker
12:05 p.m. Rotary, VCSU Student Center
4:30 Viking Family Picnic, Chautauqua Park

Wednesday, August 21
noon Kiwanis, Valley City Town & Country Club

Thursday, August 22
7 a.m. Optimists, Vicky’s Viking Room

Friday, August 23
11 a.m.–1 p.m. Welcome freshmen and families at hot dogs & lemonade lunch, Library Mall

Saturday, August 24

Sunday, August 25

Monday, August 26
VCSU fall semester classes begin at 5 p.m.

Tuesday, August 27
12:05 p.m. Rotary, Student Center
5:30 p.m. Sheyenne Valley Friends of Animals, Our Saviors Lutheran Church

Wednesday, August 28
noon Kiwanis, Valley City Town & Country Club

Thursday, August 29
Payday
7 a.m. Optimists, Vicky’s Viking Room

Friday, August 30

Saturday, August 31

Sunday, September 1

Monday, September 2
Labor Day–No VCSU classes, offices closed

Go to www.valleycitynd.org/calendar.php to see more events happening in and around Valley City.